ContactMember Email
CAA Logo CAA Logo

Airworthiness Responsibilities

Upon Signing of the Convention on International Civil Aviation in 1944 (commonly known as the Chicago Convention), a UN specialized agency was formed known as International Civil Aviation Organization. ICAO works with the Convention’s 191 Signatory States and global industry and aviation organizations to develop international Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) which are then used by States to develop legally-binding national civil aviation regulations.

Currently there are 19 Annexes to the Chicago Convention. Out of these 19 Annexes following are wholly or partially related to Airworthiness of the Aircraft. The Annexes are

  • Annex 1 – Personnel Licensing
  • Annex 6 – Operation of Aircraft
  • Annex 7 – Aircraft Nationality and Registration Marks
  • Annex 8 – Airworthiness of Aircraft
  • Annex 16 – Environmental Protection
  • Annex 19 – Safety Management System

Core Functions

The Airworthiness Directorate has the regulatory role in respect of airworthiness through the establishment of standards, recommended practices and guidelines, and their enforcement as required by the Civil Aviation Rules 1994.

Processes & Activities
The primary role of this Directorate is to enhance and promote aviation safety through effective and up-to-date airworthiness regulation and by encouraging industry to deliver high standards of airworthiness. Airworthiness activities are regulated through various processes, taking into consideration all aspects of the airworthiness which have an impact on aviation safety. These processes include registration of civil aircraft, certification of aircraft design and built standards, licensing of aircraft maintenance engineers, approval of relevant organizations, development of standards and safety investigation. The Airworthiness regulating activities are:
  1. Engineering
    1. Certification of aeronautical products
    2. Issue of Airworthiness Directives
    3. Approval of Modification and Repair
    4. Investigation of Incidents & Defects
    5. Type Certificate Acceptance
  2. Audit & Surveillance
    1. Approval of Maintenance Organizations / Repair Stations
    2. Approval of Design Organizations and Manufacturing Organizations
    3. Approval of Aircraft Maintenance & Facilities
    4. Approval of Training Organizations
    5. Spot Checks / Ramp Inspections
  3. Regulations
    1. Initial Issue and Renewal of Certificate of Airworthiness
    2. Continuing Airworthiness Maintenance
    3. Registration of civil aircraft
    4. Develop and update standards, requirement and procedures
    5. Analyze airworthiness data, including all occurrence reporting, service difficulties reporting, malfunction and defects
  4. Engineers Licensing
    1. Syllabus Approvals
    2. Grant of Limited Authorization
    3. Personal Approvals (Shops)
    4. Foreign AMEs Validation
    5. AME Examinations
    6. AME License
    7. Executive Appointments

Twitter Facebook YouTube Browser Supported: Internet Explorer 11.0 or above, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome.
Copyright Pakistan Civil Aviation Authority - 2019